Sweaters for trees

I spent my whole saturday in the steets, bombing trees with woven fabrics.  Yarn bombing was my first ever street art activity and despite the sunburn and calluses, I had fun and it’s definitely a memorable experience.

Urban art may be the most debatable/controversial form of art and is not acceptable by many.  However, as soon as the Arts at BGC organized a “yarn bombing activity” in celebration of their first art festival at the Bonifacio Global City, I volunteered right away because of three good reasons:

1.  I’ll get to spend the day with the artisans of Rags2Riches–an eco-ethical, for-profit social enterprise.  These artisans are women from the poor communities who create rags, bags and accessories from scraps, organic and indigenous fabrics.

2.  Yarn bombing is temporary unlike paint so it can be easily removed.

3. The world needs more color.

My very fashionable tree

My very fashionable tree

More yarn-bombed trees! They look like wearing sweaters

More yarn-bombed trees! They look like wearing sweaters

Leave a Reply

