Badass

I was about to post an office rant last night but thank God I didn’t because I would just be eating those words with what I am about to share.

It has been two weeks since I started with this day job (I work as a graphic artist) and I already have a lot of issues, questions and worries that made me stop and think if this job will help me grow and help me achieve what I want?  Will this job boost my creativity? Will this job take me to New York?  Because for the first time in my life, I felt like a slave.  I never felt being in the bottom of the caste system before.  Oh wait, I just said the rant.

I don’t want to go into details as they don’t matter anymore anyway. I realized that it’s too early for me to complain and so juvenile to say such things.  I’ve been working there for just a few weeks and I still have a lot of stuff to figure out…like how their state-of-the-art hand dryers work. Ha ha! Kidding aside, there are still a million things I’ve yet to learn in all aspects of the industry I’m in.  So instead of wasting your time with my rants, I just did the most badass grown up thing to do—I collected myself, talked to my bosses, raised all my issues and told them how I feel.  They gladly answered them all and even assured me that I’m going to be fine–I trust them, but of course, it would still depend on my attitude and job performance.

Speaking up takes courage and I’m glad I did it because if I just kept silent and did nothing, I’d probably live a miserable life forever.

I can’t believe I just saved my own life.

Leave a Reply

