Smile, It’s Easy

Sadness is inevitable, but don’t forget you are human and are capable of turning it around because you have a choice—a choice to be happy.  So why sulk when you can smile?  Tell me it’s not easy and I’ll slap you in the face.  Come on, it only takes 17 muscles of your beautiful face to flash that smile.

A few days ago, a friend asked me if I was happy.  I replied a big fat YES.  Why? Because I learned to accept myself.  I believed and gave myself freedom to do what I really want to do—which is to make art.

I am no expert in human psychology or whatsoever, but I think I found the reason why people lose themselves and become miserable.  They waste time getting wrapped up in other people’s lives and identities, until they get to the point where they feel obliged to live up to other’s expectations.  That is why they strive to impress, feel jealousy, take criticisms personally, self-pity, and the list goes on.  Then what happens? Poof! They end up unhappy.

Everything starts within yourself, so if you do not accept who you are at the first place and you try to be somebody else because you think he/she is much cooler than you, then I’ll slap the insecurities out of you. You think you’re not beautiful? Please.  Think again.

Self-acceptance is the key my friend.  Talk to yourself, ask what you really want to do, believe and take action.  You believe you can make music? Then go grab your guitar! You have a passion for business? Then go sell something! Start from the bottom and in no time, you’ll be on the top until everybody looks like ants.  That will happen if you BELIEVE in yourself.  You’ll make mistakes along the way but take them positively.  Don’t envy the famous and the successful, these people are just doing what they love and you should too.

If you learn to accept and love yourself, you’ll see yourself smiling everyday.

Leave a Reply

