Saturday Night Playlist: RENT

This Saturday Night is a time for RENT!

I have nothing to do tonight so I decided to watch Rent (the 2005 film adaptation) on my laptop.  I first saw the film when I was in high school a few years ago, and I fell in love with it… and until now, I’m still a fan.  This just proves that everything about this broadway musical is timeless–the music, story, and even the issues it addresses.  Rent deals with relatable sensitive issues like homosexuality, drugs, AIDS, death, survival, etc.  And until now, we still see such problems and issues in the society; these are the things that we deal with and fight for every day.  Rent simply tells us that our existences in this world are just being “rented”.  We all have borrowed lives and there is no certainty when these lives will end so we must live each day as if it is our last.

Seasons of Love

Rent

Light My Candle

Out Tonight

I’ll Cover You

La Vie Bohème

I Should Tell You

Take Me or Leave Me

Your Eyes

No Day But Today

(all songs written by Jonathan Larson)

 

*I better go over my bucket list, start updating and add “see RENT the musical LIVE on stage” 🙂

Leave a Reply

