Like Father Like Daughter

No matter what age group we belong to, we can attest that we grew up knowing Disney.  I’ve been living for more than two decades now but I would be lying if I say I don’t watch any Disney shows anymore.  Believe it or not, as soon as I open the TV, I tune in to Disney channel first before anything else.

You may not be familiar with all the present Disney films, but I’m 100% sure that you all know by heart the classics (some of us even have them on VHS tapes)–The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, and Aladdin (my favorite of all time).  The characters of these Disney films were already part of our childhood…and who made these characters come to life? Mr. Glen Keane, of course, the famous Disney Animator.

Glen Keane’s recent work is Disney’s 2011 movie, Tangled.  It surprised me more when I found out that he worked with his daughter (and conceptual artist), Claire Keane, in making this animation movie.  She was also Glen’s inspiration for making Rapunzel.

Claire’s amazing illustrations for Tangled are posted on her blog and based on her works, you can really tell where she got her talent.  Here’s a proof:

A time lapse video of Claire painting Rapunzel’s Mural at the Disney Art Department wall.

more of Claire‘s illustrations for Tangled:

Some sketches by Glen Keane:

I made a few researches and just found out that Glen’s father is also a famous cartoonist and known for the newspaper comic, The Family Circus.  This incredible talent really does run in the family!

sources:

http://claireonacloud.com/

http://theartofglenkeane.blogspot.com/

http://www.familycircus.com/

Leave a Reply

